100% Love


andhraboxoffice

100% Love is a Telugu Movie starring Naga Chaitanya and Tamanna. It’s about Balu who is a class topper and his aunt’s daughter Mahalakshmi whwho comes from the village to stay with his family and attend his college.

First of all, I have to say that Naga is HOT! He looks pretty dorky in the beginning of the film with his glasses, but in the second half, he looks very handsome! This is the first film with him that I’ve seen and it’s the third or fourth one with Tamanna. I think Tamanna did a better job that Naga, although both were average.

There are a couple of issues with the film that really bothered me. One is the fact that Mahalakshmi who is presented in the beginning of the film as a girl who is lazy, doesn’t study and doesn’t know much, suddenly becomes a class topper in about a semester. Seriously, they showed her as someone who doesn’t know that two times two is and then, she passes her Bhava Balu in Computer Science and becomes a topper? How dumb! Because that’s not possible, not in a semester anyway.

The other part that really disturbed me was the lack of emotion/love I saw on Balu’s part. Throughout the film, it’s very apparent that Mahalakshmi is in love with Balu. It’s obvious that Balu finds her attractive, but throughout the entire film, including the end where they are at the marriage alter, I don’t see love from Balu’s end. I don’t know if Naga couldn’t portray it or if the Director asked him to act like that, but I did not like that. It felt incomplete. When the couple got married at the end, I was unsatisfied, still waiting to see some more passion and affection between the two. So you will get to see more fights and less love in this film. And since I don’t enjoy stuck-up egoistic adamant men who refuse to express their love or do anything for their lover, a thumbs down on this part of the script.

Oh and what the heck with those little kids in the house and the kids, Mahalakshmi and Balu always having dinner separately from the rest of the household.

Now the bits I did enjoy was the NTR reenactment and Mahalakshmi’s obsession with chicken. The reenactment was cute and fun and the chicken jokes were really funny. [Don’t think I didn’t notice that Tamanna never actually bit into a chicken in the film, she must be a a strict vegetarian.]

The songs were good, but not good enough to stick in my head. They were mainly about studies, more directed towards students.

4 thoughts on “100% Love

  1. Hey ,

    I love the movie 100% and Arya 2. Both are amazing. I like your review a lot. You are way better critic than the telugu movie reviewers 🙂

  2. Thanks Satish! I’m glad you liked them! The only downside is that I don’t get to review them right away! But thanks for reading and commenting 🙂

    Which Telugu films have you seen lately? Which do you recommend?

  3. Hi,

    How are you ??
    I was brought to this site when I searched for a review containing comparison between parugu and heropanti as I thought they somewhat ruined the original and how others perceived it.

    It was a nice write up and I definitely agree with you as I too think Allu Arjun is very good actor and he was the + point for the movie.

    I would like to read your review of his recent movies ( s/o satyamurthy and racegurram).

  4. Dear Itachi,

    Firstly, thank you for your message. It really means a lot to me. I’m glad you liked that post. A combination of very busy work schedule and a sudden strange shortcoming of English subtitled Telugu films has affected my usual output. I have seen Hindi dubbed Race Gurram and enjoyed it. S/o Satyamurthy is still on my waiting list. I will do my best to produce more posts soon. Please follow my blog with your email (top right corner) so that you can be informed when new posts are up. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

