Yeh Jawaani Hai Deewani


Before I get into the details of the film, if you’re a Bollywood lover, then you have to see this film at least once because 1) it’s a blockbuster 2) the songs are awesome 3) this film has established Ranbir as the new superstar and Deepika as one of the top actresses.

I’m actually confused about my conviction of this film. I love it, but it’s not perfect. It’s definitely not another DDLJ as Deepika has recently claimed in one of her interviews. But it’s an entertaining, modern film about friendship and love.

I absolutely love the first half. Ranbir has already proved himself as an actor, especially with Barfi. His performance is great. I love Deepika as Naina, the character is so different than what she has played before. I think she has done a great job in this film and I’m glad she’s exploring different kinds of roles.

I really like the scene where Naina and Bunny meet for the first time at the train station, although the bit about Naina having to run to make it to the train was unnecessary. Karan Johar clearly wanted to make a tribute to DDLJ. The scene did succeed at reminding me of DDLJ in a good way.

Aditya Roy Kapoor and Kalki Koechlin also shined in their roles. I’m liking both more and more, especially Kalki. She was just hilarious in the fight scene in the first half. I think she’s a natural actor and her Hindi is not bad considering she’s learned it recently. As for Aditya, I think he’s going to go places.

As for the second half, I have some issues with it. The second half was not as original as I had expected it to be. The script of the second half is actually predictable and cliched. The drastic changes in Naina’s looks and Bunny’s thoughts are not convincing. The storyline is a bit underdeveloped in that sense, but the first half saves the film.

Since it’s a Karan Johar film, you get plenty of colorful shots, dancing and romance in the film. The songs are great, I especially like Balam Pichari, Badtameez Dil and SubhanAllah. Some of the lyrics are dumb in Balam Pichkari, but the music is good. Madhuri Dixit has also done a special appearance in the first song, a ghagra. It was entertaining to see Ranbir romance Madhuri, whom his dad had romanced in the 90s. Madhuri was looking gorgeous.

One other thing that bothered me was some of the girls’ outfits. They’re wearing short skirts, sleeveless shirts and shorts on the mountains, in freezing weather! Kjo loves to freeze actresses in his movies! I wish Kjo and Manish Malhotra would actually consider the scenes and locations when selecting outfits. I also found the strapless saree of Deepika’s in the second half distasteful. But the rest of her sarees, especially the blue one is beautiful. The orange dance outfit in the second half did not suit her body though.

Now let’s come to the casting of Deepika and Ranbir. The script of the film is good, so I definitely don’t think that the success of the film is due to this pairing, but no doubt, it did help the film garner extra attention. Deepika and Ranbir dated for a year, back in the beginning of their careers. They broke up in a bad way and Deepika mentioned on Koffee with Karan that Ranbir had cheated on her multiple times. Both moved on to new relationships and apparently were able to get over their negative feelings to sign this movie. Right now Deepika is dating Ranveer Singh and Ranbir is dating Katrina.

I like this film mainly because the Naina character touched me. I’m so much like her and the dialogues between Bunny and Naina on the mountains were very touching. I loved how he told her that she is cool, that she beats people, hikes better than anyone and sings Bachchan songs. He says that she needs to stop insulting herself and start loving herself. It was a great dialogue.

To sum it up, YJHD is a fun film, go for it!

Leave a Reply

