Housefull 2


I liked Housefull but I like Housefull 2 even more! It was good! It wasn’t as funny as it could have been, but it definitely had its moments and kept me engaged, except till the very end when I got kind of confused.

If you watched the first one, Housefull 2 is similar.  It’s about how these characters end up in the same house and there is full-blown confusion about who is really who and who loves who. That’s why it’s called “Housefull.”

I quite enjoyed watching real-life brothers Rishi and Randhir Kapoor play brothers in this movie. I’ve never seen a Randhir Kapoor film from the old days, but he’s known to be a not-so-good actor. I think he was fine in this film. In case you’re not familiar with the Kapoor family, Randhir is the father of Karisma and Kareena and Rishi Kapoor is the father of Ranbir. So Ranbir, Karisma and Kareena are cousins.

Housefull 2 was shot abroad. Bollywood always does weird things when they shoot abroad, like making foreigners understand Hindi. Seriously, why do they do that? In the first scene of Housefull 2, Asin and Jacqueline are speaking to a white guy in Hindi and he actually understands and responds in English. Come on!  I’m not looking for logic in a Sajid Khan comedy but that’s so stupid!

And the casting. The casting of Housefull was much better. I have no problems with the guys, they all did fine—Akshay, Riteish, John and Shreyas. Do any of you like Shreyas? I like Shreyas, I enjoy most of his movies. John surprisingly did very well too. But I have to say that the way he pronounced or mispronounced “leather” made me shudder.

I wasn’t too happy with the female casting of the film. Asin was decent, Shazahn and Jacqueline were just pretty to look at. I think Zarine Khan was a miscast because they put her opposite Riteish. Zarine is a big girl, she’s tall and large, and she didn’t suit Riteish at all.  In general though, there isn’t much for girls to do in the Housefull series. These are flowerpot roles and anyone can do them.

I’m not going to get into the story of this film at all, because there is no point. If you want a light comedy film to pass time with, watch it.

Leave a Reply

