Jatt & Juliet


I was super excited to watch this film, because it was so hyped. Apparently, Jatt & Juliet is the biggest blockbuster in Punjabi cinema. Wow. That’s enough to raise anyone’s expectations.

The film is about Fateh (Diljit) and Pooja (Neeru) who go to Canada and end up staying together. Pooja is there to study and Fateh to work. Fateh wants to marry a Canadian resident and stay there forever.  Pooja is engaged and will only stay in Canada for eight months to take a course. When she arrives in Canada, her money is stolen and due to the bad circumstances, she ends up sharing a place with Fateh. The two hate each other’s guts and eventually get thrown out of the place. But they end up having to tolerate each other again after getting a job at restaurants right next to one another.

The rest of the story is very predictable. They fall in love. Who could have guessed? But they’re unable to tell each other how they feel and Pooja goes back to India to marry. Fateh ends up following her there, and I’m sure you can guess the ending.

I have no idea how this film became the biggest blockbuster in Punjab. It’s a decent film, the international locations must have been exciting for the audience. The casting is also good, both Diljit and Neeru acted very well, but the biggest blockbuster in Punjab? Seriously, how did that happen? I hate it when films are over-hyped like this. Expectations are raised and then the viewer is disappointed. That’s how I’m feeling right now.

First of all, the story is so ordinary. We’ve seen a million films like this. As for the comedy track, it was outright irritating, so irritating that I had to fast-forward those parts. The romantic scenes could have been better. I had a hard time believing that the characters fell in love. It wasn’t very convincing. They were more convincing when they were fighting.

And what was that when they kept stopping, looking back at each other and repeating the same dialogue? Which filmmaker does that nowadays? That’s so annoying.

The only thing I liked about the film was Diljit and Neeru. I think Diljit is kind of cute and he played the part of a mischievous, kind-hearted guy well. Neeru is too cute. She is so refreshing to watch on screen. She’s so natural and I love her voice. After watching the same actors and actresses in every other Hindi movie, it was great to see new faces. That’s the great part about watching films from different regions.

The music was okay. I liked the first song and the “main partisi” song. Songs in Punjabi films are not usually so short right? Each song was like a minute or two minutes. I was shocked! Most Hindi songs are like four minutes.

I don’t know if I should recommend this film to you. I was disappointed, but I’m still confused about how it did so well at the box office. So I have no idea if you will like this movie. You might or you might not.

I think there is also a Jatt & Juliet 2. But I didn’t enjoy the first one much, so I’m not sure if I’ll go for the second one.

3 thoughts on “Jatt & Juliet

  1. Good review! The comedic relationship between Neeru & Diljit was definitely the reason that the movie became a blockbuster hit… plus I LOVE the punjabi insults exchanged throughout the film 😛

    • @sharana13– As a Punjabi speaker, you definitely have an upper hand watching Punjabi cinema. Maybe the reason that this film didn’t quite work for me was because I didn’t get the jokes/insults as well. Thanks for pointing that out.

  2. Punjabi movies, especially the comedy movies, are dialogue driven. I have seen some english subtitles for punjabi movies. While they do provide good translation but they kill the humor altogether.
    Eg. Punjabi Dialogue: “Tu puch ke amb laine aa?”
    Simple translation in English: “Why do you want to know about it?”
    Word to word translation would be: “Are you going to get rewarded with mangoes if you come to know about it?”
    (Trust me it sounds really funny in punjabi if you reply that way when somebody asks you to explain anything)

    If I could recommend you more punjabi movies, plz do watch :
    1) Shaheed e Mohabbat- Buta Singh
    2) Punjab 1984

Leave a Reply

