Ramayya Vasthavayya Review


They really need to stop giving films the same name. I did not watch this film thinking that it was the Telugu version of Hindi film Ramaiyya Vasthavaya which is the remake of Telugu film Nuvvostanante Nenoddantana. Moreover that film has Shruti Haasan too. But it turns out that this film has nothing to do with those two films.

This Ramayya Vasthavayya is a Telugu mass entertainer starring Jr. NTR, Samantha and Shruti Haasan.

The film is about Ramu (Jr. NTR) who falls in love with Akshara (Samantha) and goes to her home for her sister’s marriage. He wins over the hearts of her family members and tells her father that he loves her. But Ramu notices that Akshara’s father is in some kind of trouble and decides to help him. But then there’s a twist in the story that I won’t tell you about so that you will enjoy the film when you see it.

This is the first Jr. NTR film for me. I was not expecting a lot from him but his performance has been a pleasant surprise. He’s not particularly good looking but he’s very good with dialogues and action scenes. I especially liked his action scenes because he has a strong build. When other actors who are lean are beating up dozens of men, it doesn’t look very believable. But with Jr. NTR’s big, strong build, it’s more believable that he could make a man spin in air with a single blow. So I actually really enjoyed the action scenes in this film. I don’t think he’s too great with romantic scenes but he’s very good at delivering dramatic dialogues and he’s pretty good with comedy as well.

The story of the film is not very original. It’s kind of like Mirchi. It’s another revenge film with a twist. But the twist was very good in Ramayya Vasthavayya. I wasn’t expecting it at all. In that one scene when Jr. NTR attacks the men he was supposed to be protecting, I was completely taken by surprise. It took me a few minutes to figure out what was going on and I liked that a lot.

Another pleasant surprise in this film was Shruit Haasan who actually had a scope to act in this film and she did well. I was expecting Samantha to be the center of attention with her performance, but Shruti’s role and performance was much better. So Shruti was definitely the limelight in this film. I’m glad to see that and I hope she signs more films like this where she has good, performance oriented roles.

Although the story and film is not very unique, I did not get bored at all during this film. So I think that the direction was very good. The background music was also very nice, the music was nice overall.

I recommend Ramayya Vasthavayya. It’s entertaining and there’s never a dull moment.

Edit: I forgot to mention a wonderful cast member in this film– Vidyullekha Raman. It took me about fifteen minutes of googling to find her name as it wasn’t mentioned anywhere. She has done some very entertaining comedy scenes in this film. As you all know, comedy is very important in Telugu films but the men are leading in that department. It was such a breath of fresh air to see an actress do good comedy so effortlessly and Vidyullekha is so natural at what she does. Her comedy scenes were the best comedy scenes in the film. I can’t wait to see her in more films. Also I wonder if she dubbed for herself. The voice in the film is also very suited for comedy, I’m assuming it’s her natural voice.

Leave a Reply

