Telugu Film Recommendations and Thoughts


Ye Maaya Chesave (2010)

I received a message from a reader today. I thought I’d share it and answer here.

Hi, my name is TJ and i’m a huge Telugu movie fan. I also watch some hindi movies but mostly Telugu. I just wanted to give you a list of movies that I recommend you watch. you may have seen some of these already though.
Ye Maaya Chesave (Telugu version of Vinnaithandi Varuvaya with a slighty different story and actors)
Murari (a Mahesh Babu movie from 2001)
Athadu (another Mahesh movie from 2005)
Seethamma Vakitlo Sirimalle Chettu (aka SVSC; you can probably tell that i’m a big Mahesh Babu fan)
Businessman(a Mahesh movie with a different story than what you normally see in Telugu movies, I really like the message in this movie)
Geethanjali (1989 telugu movie that was directed by maniratna. it’s a really good romantic movie if you enjoy romance)
Swamy Ra Ra (a 2013 crime comedy that is a pretty good entertainer)
Oohalu Gusagusalade (a 2014 rom-com with new actors that is also nice entertaining film)
Brindavanam( 2010 movie with Jr. NTR)
Adhurs (another 2010 movie with Jr. NTR; story may seem a little like Krrish but it is a very entertaining film)
Okkadu(2003 Mahesh Babu film; was remade in Tamil as Ghili and is now being remade in Hindi as Tevar starring Arjun Kapoor and Sonakshi Sinha)

I hope that I have shown you some new Telugu movies that you end up enjoying. It would be nice to get your opinions on some of these movies too.
Thanks,
T.J. Stevens

Gamyam (2008)

Dear T.J.,

Thank you for your message and for your film recommendations. And apologies for this ridiculously long answer you’re about to read.

I really enjoy Telugu films too. I actually started watching them around the same time I started watching Hindi films. The first Telugu film I saw was Gamyam. I’ve been watching Telugu films since. I tend to watch 3-4 Hindi films, then 1 Telugu film. Most of the Hindi films this year have been so bad that I have had to watch a good Telugu film in between to clear my palate! Telugu films have such a distinct flavor to them that one develops a taste for the wide range of emotions that a Telugu film offers. I think a Telugu mass entertainer is the ultimate masala. It has got everything, it’s like an all-you-can-eat buffet. It has the action, the drama, the romance, the comedy and that underlying lesson. I’m making strange metaphors about food for some reason, but you get the idea.

I’ve not seen Ye Maaye Chesava because I’ve seen Vinnaithandi Varuvaya many times. In fact, it’s one of my favorite films. I also translated Turkish subtitles for this film just so that more people could watch it and experience it. I can’t imagine any remake capturing the magic of that film in the same way. So for the sake of preserving the impact of the original, I’ve not seen Ye Maaye Chesava nor the Hindi remake — Ek Deewana Tha. But you mentioned that the story is a little different so maybe I will see it just to find out the differences. I do like Samantha so it’s a plus that she’s in this film. I actually want to see Yeto Vellipoyindhi Manasu. It’s also a Gautham Menon film with Samantha and Nani in the leads. I can’t find it though. I have Autonagar Surya on my list too. Another film I can’t find with English subtitles. That’s the major problem that non-Telugu speakers have with Telugu films — subtitles.

Athadu (2005)

I’ve not seen Murari or Okkadu either. I can’t find Okkadu with English subtitles. I didn’t know that Tevar is a remake of Okkadu! Dull! I’ve seen Athadu but it has been such a long time that I can barely remember what it was about. I must see it again. Thank you for recommending Murari. Telugu supernatural thrillers are always very good so this is definitely going on my list. I can’t say that I’m a huge Mahesh Babu fan but I really liked his latest performance in 1: Nenokkadine (review here). Of Mahesh Babu’s films, I have seen Pokiri, Sainikudu, Businessman, 1: Nenokkadine, Dookudu, SVSC. I’ve got Aagadu on my list.

I’m just getting into Jr. NTR films. I’ve seen Ramayya Vasthavaya which was very good (review here). I also saw Baadshah which was decent. I was reading about Adhurs the other day, and it has high ratings. I’ll probably watch that next. I don’t find Jr. NTR very good looking or charismatic but he’s a brilliant dancer and he’s also good with action, dialogues and has good comic timing too.

Seethamma Vakitlo Sirimalle Chettu (2013)

I’ve seen SVSC, Businessman, Geethanjali and Oohalu Gusagusalade.

SVSC was very sweet. Venkatesh and Mahesh Babu had great chemistry as brothers. I really liked watching the dynamic between them. It’s just a great family film, about family, made for family. It’s understated and definitely worth watching.

I saw Businessman a few years ago. I wasn’t very impressed. In fact, after seeing the film,  I had joked that the film must have been sponsored by the Indian Communist Party. I do like films with a social message but Businessman almost felt like it had a political agenda. Maybe that was my perception, I could be wrong. But I did wonder to myself why Mahesh Babu signed that film. I did like the “Sir Osthara” song though. There is a hilarious comedy parody in Greekveerudu with MS Narayana on Sir Osthara.

I saw Geethanjali a long time ago. I know it’s a classic and I did like it. In many Telugu films, Geethanjali gets mentioned which shows how highly regarded this film is. There was a scene in Konchem Ishtam Konchem Kashtam where Tamanna and family are watching this film. And I think it was mentioned in the film Happy and countless others I’m sure.

Oohalu Gusagusalade (2014)

I just saw Oohalu Gusagulade. I might review it. I liked it a lot. I think the story and the leads were very good. It was kind of slow in the first half but very entertaining in the second. It’s a sweet romantic story, kind of reminded me of films like Bommarillu. The lead actress was very impressive, she acted very naturally. Comedy in the second half was very entertaining.

I’ve known about Swamy Ra Ra and have read the plot countless times. This is what I do when I’m bored and can’t find anything to watch. I go read plots of films I haven’t seen. Every time I consider watching this movie but the plot doesn’t sound very tempting. I don’t know the leads either, so maybe that’s why. Maybe I’ll watch if I absolutely can’t find anything else.

By the way, I added a huge list of films I’ve seen on the end of the page Films & Reviews Index. It’s all mixed but the Telugu films I’ve seen are there with my ratings. I’ve also got two sections on my right hand bar for recently watched films and films I’m looking forward to seeing that I try to update often. I’m looking forward to the two Anushka films next year.

Thanks again for the message, do share your recommendations in the future!

2 thoughts on “Telugu Film Recommendations and Thoughts

  1. Hi,
    I always do the same thing. I tend to watch a few Telugu movies and then i watch a Hindi movie on Netflix. I tend to find the same problem regarding Hindi films and needing subtitle if i want to watch movies that aren’t on Netflix. I’m glad that you like 1: Nenokkadine because it is my second favorite movie of all time. I was disappointed that it didn’t do well at the box office though since my people in India didn’t understand it. I can tell you the one main difference between YMC and VV but I don’t want to ruin it for you. Actually YMC was Samantha’s debut film and Naga Chaitanya’s second so they were still improving as actors at the time. Here are some links of some of the movies you mentioned that have subtitles:
    Adhurs- https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JykjYIsGATk
    YMC- https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_10kSVWyyug
    Swamy Ra Ra- https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AptjsiPpxAg
    I don’t know how YouTube works in Turkey though but these work where i live. Its been awesome talking to you though
    Thanks,
    TJ

    • Also I forgot to mention, Ye Maaya Chesave was simultaneously shot along with Vinnaithandi Varuvaya so it technically wasn’t a remake. But the hindi version was definitely a remake. Also about Businessman, the message that I liked wasn’t about politics really. It was when they said that everyone should have a goal in life and they should try to not only accomplish it but also surpass that goal.
      Thanks,
      TJ

      P.S. I had really high expectations for Aagadu but i was really disappointed. It is not very good but it is good to watch once on a day when you are bored. Also don’t really go in with too many expectations.

Leave a Reply

